07.12.18 | News, Press Reports

EMS elects Presidium and Mission Council for the next six years

International composition has proven itself.

Detlev Knoche, EKHN, Klaus Rieth, Evangelische Landeskirche in Württemberg, Habib Badr, The National Evangelical Church of Beirut (left to right)

Two familiar faces and a new one can be found in the newly elected Presidium of the Evangelical Mission in Solidarity. Klaus Rieth from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg and member of the Presidium of the EMS for the past six years, was elected by a large majority as its Chairman. His deputies are Dr. Habib Badr, Senior Pastor of the National Evangelical Church of Beirut, Lebanon, who has also been a member of the Presidium for the past six years, and Detlev Knoche, Head of the Center of Ecumenism of the Protestant Church in Hesse and Nassau and the Evangelical Church of Kurhessen-Waldeck, The former president, Oberkirchenrätin Marianne Wagner, Deputy of the Church President of the Protestant Church of the Palatinate, had not stood for re-election.

The three-member Presidency directs the General Meeting and the semi-annual meeting Mission Council. The management-board of the EMS secretariat agrees with the presidium on important issues.

In addition, the other 14 members of the International Mission Council, which heads the EMS, were elected. It sets out the missionary strategy and ensures that policy decisions of the biennial General Meeting are implemented. Of the 17 members of the Mission Council, eight are from churches in Africa, Asia and the Middle East, six from churches in Germany and three from mission societies belonging to the EMS. New faces here are Bernd Kappes (Protestant Church of Kurhessen-Waldeck, EKKW), Musa Salusu (Toraja Church, GT), Hein Arina (Christian Evangelical Church in Minahasa, GMIM), Heidrun Perron (German East Asia Mission, DOAM), Florian Gärtner (Evangelical Church of the Palatinate, EKP) and LEE Jai-Cheon (Presbyterian Church in the Republic of Korea, PROK).

Portrait and group photos are available. 

Press Contact:
Regina Karasch-Böttcher, karasch@dont-want-spam.ems-online.org, Tel. +49 711 636 78 -85, Mobil 0178 62 000 52

Dr. Kerstin Neumann, neumann@dont-want-spam.ems-online.org, Tel. +49 711 636 78 -33